You’re Single?

So I’m back…I think.  And whether I’m writing this for others to read (I hope) or it’s journaling, either is fine.  And, not all posts will be about gluten free so if you read these for reviews, etc., that’s great but I’m going to explore other topics in my life as well.

Something has gotten me thinking over the last couple of months and is something that has appeared over my lifetime:  Why am I single?

There are a few of things about being single I want to focus on for this post.  The first thing is that question I dread hearing:  “Why are you single?”  Sigh…well Karen (sorry all Karens out there, I know your name is used a lot these days so I will jump on the bandwagon) there are probably two reason for me being single.  The first is that I like being single, I can do things on my own time without asking someone if we have plans, etc.  I like my TIME.  But the second is that I’m un-dateable.  NOW, before y’all get all riled up, it could be true.  I’m not a good dater.

Here’s why:  I’m in sales.  Every day I’m prospecting, cold calling, doing meetings to see what needs are and, hopefully, selling them on not only my products but ME.  In order for someone to do business with me, they have to trust me.  Dating is like that.  You prospect for that guy you want to go out with, you contact them (or they contact you), you go on a date to see if there is compatibility and then you have to TRUST each other and build that.  It’s like work for me to date.

The third, and even worse thing, that I hear is “You’re beautiful and smart and funny…why don’t you have a boyfriend?”  Which is code for “what is wrong with you?”  No, I don’t have seven toes and no, I’m not a serial killer.   I don’t know why I don’t have a boyfriend because if I could answer that question…I would have a boyfriend.  Probably because see the first point:  It feels like work, like a job, to date.

The thing that goes along with that is that, honestly, I don’t think I’m beautiful.  Now, don’t go thinking that I think I’m Quasimodo because I know I’m pretty but I hear things like “beautiful” and “stunning”.  I can hold my own but it surprises me when I hear that.

So I am single.  And a good part of me LIKES being single.  That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t LIKE to have a boyfriend.  Right now is not the time and when the time is right it will happen.

And, by the way, Quasimodo had endearing qualities, looks aren’t always the only thing that attracts.

Leave a comment